The Building Regulations are developed by the Government and approved by Parliament. They are minimum standards for design, construction and alterations to nearly every building.

The Building Regulations also contain a list of requirements that ensure minimum standards for health, safety, convenience, energy efficiency, welfare and sustainability. These are referred to as Schedule 1 and they also aim to prevent misuse, abuse or contamination of water supplies.

These regulations cover all aspects of construction including foundations, stability, damp-proofing, insulation, heating, ventilation, fire protection, means of escape and making sure there are adequate facilities for people with disabilities.

Building Regulations consist of Parts A – P and are regularly being updated.

Below are brief explanations of each part.

A – Structure

Part A is concerned with structural stability of buildings and encompasses design of foundations, walls, floors and roofs. It also deals with limiting the extent to which parts of a building may collapse if a major catastrophe occurs.

B – Fire Safety

Part B includes requirements for providing early warning of a fire, satisfactory escape routes, preventing fire spread both within and to other buildings and providing good access for the Fire Services.

This Part is split into two volumes

Volume 1 – Dwellinghouses

Volume 2 – Buildings other than dwellinghouses

C – Site preparation and resistance to contaminants and moisture

Part C contains the recommendations for making sure the building remains watertight and free from damp, condensation and any contamination that may be in the ground.

D – Toxic Substances

Part D provides guidance on the prevention of toxic substances permeating into the building when inserting insulation into cavity walls.

E – Resistance to the Passage of Sound

Part E includes requirement aimed at reducing sound transference between dwellings, flats, communal areas and other certain types of rooms.

F – Ventilation

Part F provides for adequate levels of ventilation to buildings and the prevention of condensation forming in roof voids.

G – Hygiene

Part G deals with the provision of sanitary conveniences and washing facilities. It also includes requirements associated with unvented hot water storage systems.

H – Drainage and Waste Disposal

Part H deals with the disposal of sewerage, waste water and storm water along with details for household refuse.

J – Combustion Appliances and Fuel Storage Systems

Part J covers safety requirements when installing either solid fuel, gas or oil heating appliances.

K – Protection from Falling, Collision and Impact

Part K covers staircase design, handrails, balustrading, headroom and the guarding of balconies, landings and other raised areas.

L – Conservation of Fuel and Power

Part L gives minimum standards of energy efficiency and provides design criteria for space heating and hot water storage.

This Part is split into four:

  • L1A – Conservation of fuel and power in new dwellings
  • L1B – Conservation of fuel and power in existing dwellings
  • L2A – Conservation of fuel and power in new buildings other than dwellings
  • L2B – Conservation of fuel and power in existing buildings other than dwellings

M – Access to and Use of Buildings

Part M deals with the way buildings are designed to allow all people to gain access and be able to use the facilities within the building. It includes requirements to help people with sight, hearing and mobility impairments use the building.

N – Glazing Safety in Relation to Impact, Opening and Cleaning

Part N covers the issue of providing safety glass in critical locations.

P – Electrical Safety

Part P applies to electrical installation work. All new electrical installations need to be carried out by a qualified person and a certificate is needed on completion.

Regulation 7 – Material and Workmanship

Regulation 7 stipulates that building work shall be carried out with adequate and proper materials.